Naming Hurricanes

Ever wonder how tropical storms get their names? The World Meteorological Association develops names for both Atlantic and Northern Pacific Ocean storms. They use six lists per region, meaning storm names repeat on a six-year cycle.

If a hurricane does tremendous damage the name is sometimes retired and replaced by one starting with the same letter. This happened in 2018 as the names Florence and Michael were retired and replaced with Francine and Milton. No storm names were retired last year.

Five uncommon letters (Q, U, X, Y, and Z) are omitted from the list. In the rare event there are more than 21 storms in a year, number 22 and following are named according to the Greek alphabet (Alpha, Beta, Gamma, Delta, etc.)

The list of names for 2020 are a repeat from 2014: Arthur, Bertha, Cristobal, Dolly, Edouard, Fay, Gonzalo, Hanna, Isaias, Josephine, Kyle, Laura, Marco, Nana, Omar, Paulette, Rene, Sally, Teddy, Vicky, Wilfred.

Hurricane season begins June 1, peaks Sept. 10, and concludes Nov. 1.